Savage MkII BTV or CZ 452 American .22?

Discussion in '.22-Rimfire Forum' started by SFTL-1, Nov 1, 2009.

1. SFTL-1

SFTL-1 New Member

Sold my Marlin .22 many years ago and now looking to get back into it and possibly stimulate some interest from my 11 year old. I'm looking for a general purpose, bolt action .22 (.22 LR ammo) and like most people, I want it all - value, quality, accuracy for under $500. I'm looking at a Savage Mk II BTV (thumb hole, laminate stock, heavy barrel) w/3x9x40 scope at Dick's for $300 vs a CZ 452 w/o scope for $400. I'm sure I can pick up a decent scope for $60, so is the CZ worth $160 more than the Savage?

Dick's also has the same Savage with a stainless barrel in a .17 HMR configuration, but I'm not sure I see why I would need to be shooting .17 HMR rounds at 4x the price of .22LR for general purpose shooting up to 100 yards?

Thoughts?
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2009
  2. pawn

pawn New Member

I can't comment on the Savage as I have no experience with the rifle.

I have alot of range time with CZ rifles. The CZ 452 is an excellent rimfire rifle. Craftmanship vs. price point of the CZ makes it an outstanding value. If this rifle was made in America, IMHO, you would be looking at close to twice the asking price. You might consider the Scout version of the 452 for your 11 year old. Entry level youth model for well under $300.

http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/product_info.php/manufacturers_id/407/products_id/31197

Enjoy whichever rifle you decide to buy. :D
  3. paradox998

paradox998 New Member

I second the recomendation for the CZ452. I have two and they are excellent rifles. Down the road they will likely become more expensive. I would buy one now.
  4. SFTL-1

SFTL-1 New Member

Thanks for the input, it sounds like I can't go wrong with the CZ. I'll stick with the 452 american as this will be my rifle, if I'm able to stimulate an interest from my 11 year old, then I'll look into getting him his own rifle.