Scary Experience

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by gdmoody, Aug 25, 2008.

1. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

I have been reloading for probably 30 years. For the first time ever I had a "squib" load. I don't know if this is the proper term but it is what I call a cartridge without any powder in it. :eek:

Last week, my 14 year old grandson and I were at the range, he was firing my Sig 229 in the next firing lane. I was watching his target between shots and noticed that some of his bullets were hitting very low. Some even in the dirt in front of the elevated target. I thought he was just "limp wristing" it and just plain missing the target. That is until I heard a very quiet "pop" come from his lane. Even though it had never happened to me before, I knew immediately what the sound was. I basically dropped my Contender to get to him before he could even think of chambering another round. He is not an experienced shooter and I did not know if he would or not. That pretty much ended the shooting that day, even though I disassembled the SIG and removed the bullet from the barrel, that was scary enough for me to just call it quits for the day

I can only blame myself for the squib load, but a few months ago, I bought a Lee progressive loader and loaded several hundred .40 cal cartridges. I now do not trust any of those loads, along with not trusting the progressive press. I have a very large task before me of pulling every one of those bullets to check the powder. I don't look forward to this but it has to be done.

Just out of curiousity, has this happened to any of you more experienced reloaders?
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2008
  2. Popgunner

Popgunner New Member

Yes
    .357 mag wheelgun. I wasn't thinking about a squib load maybe happening & I had the hammer back again after the squib & was aiming when it hit me that I shouldn't shoot. Scarry feeling:eek:
  3. artabr

artabr New Member

I've had a sqib or two.