Scope Removal on AR15

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by Hugh357, Mar 1, 2012.

  1. Hugh357

    Hugh357 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Iowa
    I have a Picatinny rail system on my Rock River and recently installed a Rock River cantilever scope mount. After every shoot I have fully disassembled the rifle and gave it a good cleaning with Ballistol. Now with the scope it is a little awkward to clean so now I remove the two screws for the mount and remove the entire assembly. Cleaning is like it was before, much easier. What are your procedures for cleaning your AR with a scope?
  2. muddober

    muddober Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,447
    I don't take the scope off of mine to clean it but I would caution you if you are removing the picatinny rail each time with the scope still mounted to it you will soon wear the threads out of the gun. It wasn't clear to me if that is what you are doing or are you removing the scope off the rail? If so that is OK because those threads are replacable.

    Ron
  3. Hugh357

    Hugh357 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Iowa
    I am removing the scope and cantilever off the rail. Not removing the rail off the rifle.
  4. Zane71464

    Zane71464 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5,973
    Location:
    Ohio NRA Member
    I have never taken my scope off my AR to clean it.
    It is indeed awkward cleaning with a scope on. The scope I have
    isnt a tacticle style scope, but a rifle scope.
    (BSA 8-32x40AO) And I clean mine on a regular basis and I'm just a bit
    carefull while cleaning the AR.
  5. Snakedriver

    Snakedriver New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Location:
    SW. Florida
    I have a Rock River AR with the RRA 1-piece Cantilever Scope Base installed too, but I don't dismount it to clean the rifle. The good news is that when you do dismount the whole assembly with the scope installed in the mount, it goes back on without any loss of zero on the scope. I was just at the range today practicing with my iron sights and when I put the scope back on the rifle it was still dead on where I had it before.

    OP, why do you feel the need to take the scope off of the gun for cleaning? The gun's design is for harsh combat conditions and while it's good to keep it clean, I don't feel that you need to be excessive with it on the outside. Keeping the inards good and clean are much more important to the gun's performance in my opinion.
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2012
  6. zkovach

    zkovach Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,011
    Location:
    Michigan
    I use an American defense quick detatch mount. Great to take off in a snap. Always holds its zero too!
  7. Zane71464

    Zane71464 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5,973
    Location:
    Ohio NRA Member
    Hello Snakedriver, is there any way you could post a pic of your set-up?
    I sure would like to see what you have as I'm wanting to change mine over.
  8. Snakedriver

    Snakedriver New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Location:
    SW. Florida
    Sure, not a problem! ;)

    Attached Files:

  9. Zane71464

    Zane71464 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5,973
    Location:
    Ohio NRA Member
    REALLY nice, Snakedriver!
    Thanks.
  10. American Leader

    American Leader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,715
    Location:
    Iowa
    Very SWEET, Snakedriver! Nice setup. AR's are sooooo pretty!
  11. cpttango30

    cpttango30 Guest

    Never had a problem cleaning with the scope on my AR and my SCOPE IS BIG.
  12. Zane71464

    Zane71464 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5,973
    Location:
    Ohio NRA Member
    And I thought mine was big Tango!!! lol
    I have a BSA, 8-32x40 bit it's a bit long on the AR and been thinking
    of going with a Tacticle style scope to put on mine.
  13. Snakedriver

    Snakedriver New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Location:
    SW. Florida
    Zane, I'm using a 2-7X32 scope on my AR and for out to 300 yards it is more than adequate. I use a 50/225 yard zero, so my POI is always within 2" out to 225 yards. At 300 yards I use a two-dot hold over to be on target.

    I really like the smaller sized scope with longer eye-relief (mine is around 5") like I'm using. :cool:
  14. Zane71464

    Zane71464 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5,973
    Location:
    Ohio NRA Member
    Nice set-up Sankedriver and good information!
    When I first got my AR I was thinking the bigger the better and
    that's why I went with, that I thought would be, a "bigger" scope.
    As per your example, a person really dont need that with an AR, IMO...(now)

    As of yet, I havent had the opportunity to shoot past 500. And
    that's just been a handfull of times as in target shooting.
    Mostly with mine and coyote hunting/shooting, most shots never
    go beyond 2-300yds.
    I appreciate your post.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
Technical Questions & Information Antique no-name scope on Win67A project Yesterday at 9:23 PM
Technical Questions & Information Nikon Scope Identification Help Aug 26, 2014
Technical Questions & Information Mount that scope! Aug 13, 2014
Technical Questions & Information Scope mounting suggestions Jul 30, 2014
Technical Questions & Information Millett Scope? Jul 22, 2014

Share This Page