Scrap yard find!

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by mb1, May 10, 2012.

1. mb1

mb1 Former Guest

I was at the scrap yard today looking for some steel channel and square tube to build a small trailer. I go strolling through the yard once in awhile first, because the closest steel supply yard is a 40 minute drive, and second you just never know what you'll find. As I was walking I looked down and I saw this little black knob hanging out of metal box. I reached down, pulled it out and there was a Hornady/Pacific 007 press attached to it. I was dumfounded. It is a little dirty and could use some grease but it works and the linkage is tight. I have been reloading for a couple of years but only on progressive presses. I have two Lee Loadmasters 9mm and .45. I also have a RCBS press and all the kit that goes with it and dies for half a dozen cartridges, but other than the tumbler, scale, and calipers I haven't used any of it yet. It was given to me from my wifes grandfather. So back to the junkyard find. As you can see in the pics I found the press(I know what it is) and it has a die (it says "RCBS PP Swager 91" but no caliber marking) and what looks like an anvil of some kind. Can someone educate me as to what these parts are? I have the dies (from the Grandfather) and I am going to start reloading a few rifle cartridges and maybe a few others, if this is anything I can use I will, if not I will give it up for some one who can. One other thing what is the little silver aluminum thing on the side of the press?

Attached Files:

Last edited: May 10, 2012
  2. BETH

BETH Well-Known Member

you're lucky day
  3. BETH

BETH Well-Known Member

i bet u can find a lot of good stuff at the scrap yard
  4. gun-nut

gun-nut Member

Nice find! If you decide to get rid of the swageing stuff and we find out what size it is i would be intrested.
    Last edited: May 10, 2012
  5. soundguy

soundguy Well-Known Member

6. Bindernut

Bindernut Well-Known Member