Self taught??

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by lefty48, Jan 9, 2008.

1. lefty48

lefty48 New Member

I know next to nothing about muzzleloaders but have long had a mild bug about maybe getting one for squirrel hunting. Lately it's gotten a bit stronger.

I have no usable background with topics that are conceivably related, like reloading, or...just dunno even what's relevant.

Is it possible to be self-taught in this area without blowing myself up? If so, how?

If not, why not?
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2008
  2. mrkirker

mrkirker New Member

Do you have ANY firearms experience?
  3. Oneida Steve

Oneida Steve Active Member

Blackpowder guns were developed back when few soldiers could read or write.

If you can read you can safely use a blackpowder rifle. It isn't all that complicated.
  4. lefty48

lefty48 New Member

Yeah, not tons of experience.... I spent a lot of time at ranges as a kid, and took up hunting again a few years ago....Any widely available books, etc., you'd recommend?
  5. armedandsafe

armedandsafe Guest

The Lyman Blackpowder Handbook is the best for a beginner, in my opinion. Sam Falada has some good books out, but seems to assume you know something about the subject to begin with. I strongly recommend his works after you have shot some.

Go to the range and ask around about who shoots dirty and go to them for advice. From 5 of them you will get 10 different opinions, but the differences will be slight. you will find, basically, that there are flintlock shooters, sidelock percussion cap shooters and in-line shooters.

Go to your local store which carries blackpowder guns and start asking to whom you should go for advice. Most stores have somebody behind the counter who will be willing to tell you where to go.

Pops
  6. lefty48

lefty48 New Member

Lyman Handbook-- I copy that.... Thanks....