1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

Sharps Rifle sighting in

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by lthome5, May 12, 2008.

1. lthome5

lthome5 New Member

I am new to black powder cartridge rifle shooting. I have a C. Sharps .45-70 1874 rifle that I plan to take on a bison hunt. I need help with sighting in. I have a mid range Soule sight. My barrel length is 30 in and my sight radius is 34.5 inches. If I sight it in at 100 yards, and I want to hit the bulls eye at 300 yards, how do I adjust the sight? Also, if I am, let's say 2 inches low at 300 yards, how do I make an adjustment on the sight to bring it up the desiried 2 inches? Please help. I am new to black powder cartridge shooting. Thanks
  2. delta13soultaker

delta13soultaker New Member

Your Soule sight should have an ELEVATION knob on the side. Moving your rear sight up will cause the impact of the bullet to rise.

I don't know the brand of your sight so not certain of the MOA on the elevation. (I think 2.5 MOA clicks is standard for windage though.)

To know how far to turn your elevation knob you need to find the trajectory for your ammo, and the MOA of the elevation knob. (The MOA may be in the manual.....or call the manufacturer....the other option is to shoot until you can see the MOA yourself by measuring the distance between groups at same distance when you adjust the sight.)

Here is an example of the difference.

weight velocity 100yds 200yds
    45-70 (300 HP at 1800) +2.7" -9.2"
    45-70 (405 FP at 1330) +1.3" -22.9"

Once you know the MOA you just need to do the math.

1MOA = 1" @ 100yds. So a click from a 1MOA sight will move the bullet impact 1" at 100 yards. A 2 MOA would move 2" for a click at 100 yards.

MOA doubles every 100yds.

So at 200 yds the click would move you 2".