The Firearms Forum banner

Shooting 38 +P Lead Bullets

2K views 17 replies 11 participants last post by  mikld 
#1 ·
I am a novice when it comes to reloading, so here is my question. I want to reload some 38 +P ammo using some lead bullets that I bought to use in a 357 Magnum. One gun enthusiast that I know told me not to load them +P because the velocity and pressure will lead to a ton of lead fouling. He suggested loading them as 38 Specials. My cousin who is very knowledgeable on reloading doesn't believe loading them as +P is an issue at all.

What do you think?

#4 ·
Your question is slightly confusing.

Do you want to load 38+P, using some lead bullets you bought, and plan to shoot them in a 357 gun? You might get leading - depends on the bullets, the alloy they are made from, the lube used and whether or not they have gas checks.

Or do you want to load some 38+P ammo using some lead bullets you've been loading 357s with? Since 38+P is slower than 357, then if they did not lead in the 357s, they won't lead in the 38+Ps.

Reactions: dbcooper
#5 ·
"Do you want to load 38+P, using some lead bullets you bought, and plan to shoot them in a 357 gun? You might get leading - depends on the bullets, the alloy they are made from, the lube used and whether or not they have gas checks".

Yes, I want to load 38+P using lead bullets to shoot in a 357 gun. I have not shot any of this ammo. The bullets are 92/6/2 alloy with a Brinell hardness of 16-17. The have no gas checks.

#15 ·
The most important part of this equation is what's the diameter of the bullets, and what's the diameter of the bore? If the bullet is the right size, then there are no problems with shooting +P's in either a .38, or a .357. I think you already understand leading problems. Load em up, shoot em, and then let us know if you got any leading, or not!

#6 ·
Food Ingredient Cuisine Breakfast cereal Dish