Sierra 180gr SP, cut wind like butter?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by The_Rifleman, Feb 17, 2010.

1. The_Rifleman

The_Rifleman New Member

Keep in mind, where I take the shot from, the wind is strongest, and as the bullet travels the wind speed decreases.
    Every time it was kinda windy, I would shoot a 300 yard shot, not a 400 yard one, so it has been maybe 2 weeks that i have been shooting 400 yards in whatever wind condition and with the 30-06 i was using the 220s exclusively. So I am new to using the Sierra 180 SPs in wind at 400 yards.

Today I took a shot with a Hornady 220gr RN at 400 yards in about 10mph 10:30 wind. My ballistics card fell out of my lens cap for the 220s, therefore I held left for the data for the Sierra 180gr SP bullets I have. Which I held over 8" left while the wind blew it 16", missing the center of the target by about 6" right.

That is all good, that lets me know I made a mistake and my set-up is still working fine, I am the weak link.

Then I annealed the cases, and loaded up some Sierra 180gr SP bullets, I did everything as I normally would...
    I was going to wait until Wednesday to get a zero at 400yards with them but there was a snow storm and I just couldn't help myself.

So I took 3 shots with the Sierra 180gr SPs at 400 yards. The first shot I aimed a little left of the target, when I inspected it I did find a mark in the snow at the bottom just above where I aimed. I put the backing up so I would see where the shots landed and took the next shot a little more left than before; I thought I must have hit too much right. The rest you can see on the video.

I have checked and double checked everything, the rifle is perfect, the scope is solidly on the rifle, everything seems wonderful with the whole set-up.