Slide Sticks

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Mikesbales, Mar 16, 2010.

1. Mikesbales

Mikesbales New Member

Hi, I'm new to reloading. Currently I'm only reloading for a .45acp but I seem to be doing something wrong. My ammunition will not load properly into my HK USP Compact. When I release the slide to load the first round it will load completly. But the slide is VERY difficult to pull back, and after that my other round will only allow the slide to close apx. 90% and are equally difficult to eject. Any advice would be greatly appriciated. Thanks!

Below is a picture of the gun with the slide as far forward as it will go and also a pic of the loaded round.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2010
  2. ofitg

ofitg Active Member

Mikesbales, for some reason, I can't see your photos...

What type of bullet are you loading? I presume you already measured the bullet's diameter, the cartridge's overall length, etc?
    Are you using virgin brass, or already-fired brass?
  3. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest

Photos no worky.

More details please. Die and die set-up, bullet, COAL, Crimp, etc.
  4. jim brady

jim brady Well-Known Member

I assume that your pistol loads properly with factory ammo? If so, the problem could be with your reloads.

The first thing I'd check, assuming that your cases are within length tolerances, is the over-all length of the loaded rounds. Could be that the bullet is not seated deeply enough.

The second thing I'd check is that the 'bell' on the case is fully ironed out when you seat the bullets in that last step of reloading. The bell is that slight flair that enables you to start the bullet into the case. When you seat/crimp the bullet in place that should flatten out the bell.