Smith & Wesson Model 51 Revolver

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by DRB, Oct 1, 2011.

1. DRB

DRB New Member

I have a Smith & Wesson Model 51 Revolver with wood grips and a 3 1/2 inch barrel.

There are a few different markings that I would like to ask you guys to verify.

First there is a number on the frame on the bottom of the grip (56223), I assume this is the serial number.

Second, there is a number (80601) on the frame under the left grip. The same number is also on the part that the cylinder attaches to (I believe that is called the crane; please correct me if I'm wrong as I am new to firearms and just learning all the terms).

Third is a number (B562977) that has been etched on the frame just under the cylinder. Sorry, I don't have a picture of this one but can provide one if needed. I am assuming that this may have been something added by the previous owner.

The condition appears to be in very-good to excellent condition to me. I will attach pictures for help with that though. It also has very nice blueing.

I would like to know a few additional things about this gun:

1. Please verify or correct my assumptions above.
    2. The date of manufacture.
    3. Approximate value (I'm not necessarily looking to sell but it is nice to know).
    4. Anything else that you 'the experts' think I should know.

Thanks,

Dan

Attached Files:

Last edited: Oct 1, 2011
  2. RJay

RJay Well-Known Member