snake loads for home defense?

Discussion in 'Self Defense Tactics & Weapons' started by ozoner, Nov 22, 2009.

1. ozoner

ozoner New Member

I have no experience with snake shot loads, but have been told that the 45 and 357 loads would discourage any self respecting future dead guy, trying to invade my home. Any thoughts, concerns or advice would be greatly appreciated. They would be loaded into my 1911 and Taurus 357 snub revolver.
    Thanks Folks
  2. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

My .02, I would never put my life on the line to shotshell pistol loads. There's ammo designed for Personal Defense and there's ammo that is not; pistol shotshell falls into the "is not" category IMO. I don't want to discourage anyone if I need to pull the trigger, my intent is to make them the dead guy now, not in the future.
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2009
  3. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we
    Try this. I tried to shoot a squirrel at 15 feet with a snake load in a .44 Mag. The squirrel just ran off. Once I shot a mouse that was in the house with a load of CCI snake shot from a .22, 8 feet. Killed the mouse, but not one of the pellets penetrated the wall paper! Also snake shoot will not cycle in a semi-auto hand gun, not enough power. You must cycle the slide manually. Personally I would never use snake shot as a SD round. If you got lucky and hit the BG in the eyes, with his eye lids open, you might blind him, but I wouldn't bet on it. Shoot to stop the BG always.
  4. Thomas_1

Thomas_1 New Member

carver, I did the exact same thing. I tried to shoot a squirrel with the .357 shotshells. He just took off running. I then shot it into some old plaster board, it didn't even go thru it. My pellet gun does more damage then these shotshells.
    ozoner, I think if you shot a bad guy with these they would just shake it off and shoot you with their real bullets!
  5. reloader4

reloader4 New Member