Sniper Rifles

Discussion in 'General Military Arms & History Forum' started by Jester, Oct 22, 2009.

1. Jester

Jester New Member

Any input from actual Scout Snipers would be appreciated, since I'm new to firearms and generally don't know my butt from my buttplate.

1. What is the current favored sniper rifle for the United States military?

2. How is the "best" sniper rifle defined, from the perspective of a sniper?

3. What kind of ammunition is used in the favored sniper rifle for the United States military?

4. What is the favored anti-materiel rifle for the United States military?

5. What kind of ammunition is used in the favored anti-material rifle for the United States military?

The reason I'm asking is because I am a freelance writer, and although I write science fiction, I like the weapons in my stories to have some basis in fact. I assume here and there, but I don't want my audience thinking that I just pulled something out of my hat and threw it in. In my current story, a character has arrived with a custom rifle that happens to be better than anything anyone else there has.

Jester
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2009
  2. Big ugly

Big ugly New Member

right now the marines has went to the m40a3 in 308.
  3. Jester

Jester New Member

[sic]

I'm showing my extreme ignorance here, but like I said, I want to be as accurate as possible. I just did some superficial research very quickly on the M40A3, and it stated that the rounds that are typically used are 7.62 x 51 mm NATO rounds. I then did some scant research on the 7.62 x 51mm NATO round, and it says that the round is not identical to a .308 round, though the two are safely interchanged at times.

Am I correct thus far?

Jester
  4. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

I'd write him in with an Anzio in 50 BMG.

As far as "best" defined sniper rifle, you'll get a wide variety of anwers there. Kinda like a "what the best flavor of icecream ever made" question.