The Firearms Forum banner

snubnose wheelguns (need advice)

3K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  Dirtypacman 
#1 ·
Hello: its been a while since I posted on this forum, but I'm interested in purchasing a snubnose revolver. I'm a federal police officer, and while I can't carry it as a backup, I'd like to purchase one for concealed carry. I already own a glock & wanted something different (i.e. small wheelgun). Based on my initial research, I was thinking of one of the following:

S&W 432 PD .32 magnum
S&W M360 38SP
S&W 637 38+P
S&W 640

I am fairly ignorant to a lot of the nuances of revolvers & availability of different types of ammunition. I have heard that .32 magnum isn't a common round & that the S&W 432 is discontinued, which may take that from the running. How about the others? Thanks so much!

G
#2 ·
I would go 640 because of the enclosed hammer. Its personal, but as a back up I would value the enclosed hammer. Less to tangle in my pocket. I wouldn't let the DA only bother me because it would be for short range only. Long ago I carried what I think was a 42. Excellent as a pocket gun.

#3 ·
sound advice the 640 is a great choice. stay away from the 32 magnum why choose a 32 when on the same frame you can have a 38 or 357 magnum also as good as the light weight alloy guns feel they do not absorb the recoil as well as a heavier gun would. while you listed all smith and wesson models ( i'll save my anti-smith rant for another thread) there are other options the ruger sp101 or check out a taurus lots of models to choose from and every bit as good as a smith and wesson in my opinion

#4 ·
Well what is better a .357 or a .38? Ive heard that a .38 +P has the same power as a standard .357 coming out of a 2" barrel. Is this true?

#6 ·
Well what is better a .357 or a .38? Ive heard that a .38 +P has the same power as a standard .357 coming out of a 2" barrel. Is this true?