1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

snubnose wheelguns (need advice)

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by lecoqfou, Mar 10, 2009.

1. lecoqfou

lecoqfou New Member

Hello: its been a while since I posted on this forum, but I'm interested in purchasing a snubnose revolver. I'm a federal police officer, and while I can't carry it as a backup, I'd like to purchase one for concealed carry. I already own a glock & wanted something different (i.e. small wheelgun). Based on my initial research, I was thinking of one of the following:

S&W 432 PD .32 magnum
    S&W M360 38SP
    S&W 637 38+P
    S&W 640

I am fairly ignorant to a lot of the nuances of revolvers & availability of different types of ammunition. I have heard that .32 magnum isn't a common round & that the S&W 432 is discontinued, which may take that from the running. How about the others? Thanks so much!
  2. TranterUK

TranterUK Guest

I would go 640 because of the enclosed hammer. Its personal, but as a back up I would value the enclosed hammer. Less to tangle in my pocket. I wouldn't let the DA only bother me because it would be for short range only. Long ago I carried what I think was a 42. Excellent as a pocket gun.
  3. oscarmayer

oscarmayer New Member

sound advice the 640 is a great choice. stay away from the 32 magnum why choose a 32 when on the same frame you can have a 38 or 357 magnum also as good as the light weight alloy guns feel they do not absorb the recoil as well as a heavier gun would. while you listed all smith and wesson models ( i'll save my anti-smith rant for another thread) there are other options the ruger sp101 or check out a taurus lots of models to choose from and every bit as good as a smith and wesson in my opinion
  4. Moonshiner

Moonshiner New Member