Speaking of snakes...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Crpdeth, Jul 10, 2007.

1. Crpdeth

Crpdeth Active Member

We've had our fair share of discussions concerning them here of late, but I have a question for those of you that are in the know...

I stumbled upon a big ol smelly cotton mouth today and decided to relieve him of his head so that I may make use of it in my free time and make a choker/neckalace or something with it...ANYWAY....I started playing around with it and realized that one of it's fangs were actually two! Kinda weird looking to me and a little added mystery for the "much avoided" viper.

Is it normal for a snake to have three fangs, or have I discovered a rare thing?

I'll attach a few pics, were looking at the fang on the left hand side.

Crpdeth

Attached Files:

2. pickenup

pickenup Active Member

Can't see it clearly in the pic.

But anyway, most snakes with fangs have multiple sets. They break them off constantly, and rather than having to grow one from scratch, they already have them "waiting in the wings" so to speak.

If you cut the tissue right above where the fangs lays, on either/both sides of the mouth, there should be 3-4 progressively smaller fangs lined up in there.
  3. Crpdeth

Crpdeth Active Member

Thanks Bro...Very informative

That explains a lot, I know that the fangs are very brittle and while wearing leather boots you really dont have a whole lot to worry about in the woods simply because of the way the fangs are arched rearward and when he strikes (normally around the ankle) the fangs will simply break off as you say...But I never even gave any thought to them growing back! Not that I thought they didn't, I just never considered it at all. :D

Thanks again.

Crpdeth
  4. southernshooter

southernshooter New Member

Also a snakes teeth fall out like a childs does, So before it falls completely out a new one will start growing
  5. Rommelvon

Rommelvon New Member