Springfield mil-spec-Modifications Help

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by ysacres, Mar 9, 2003.

1. ysacres

ysacres Well-Known Member

SA45GunGuy
    (3/6/03 1:41:56 am)
    Reply Springfield Mil-Spec - Modifications Help
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Hello all, I am new to this wonderful board of yours. And I am needing your help...

I have decided to add some modifications to a recently purchased Springfiled Mil-Spec. I already own a Loaded Pistol, but that is more of a trophy piece rather than a carry pistol. However I really like all the enhancements on the Loaded pistol. Here what I will purchase for the mods:

1. Full guide rod - from S.A.
    2. Match Trigger - from S.A.
    3. Combat/spurred hammer - from Wilson
    4. Beavertail safety - from Wilson
    5. Flared Magwell - from Wilson
    6. Tritium Night sights - Suggestions?

I am needing to know if I left any parts out that are needed to accomplish these enhancements?

I will have my local gunsmith to polish the feed ramp and put on the parts. He is very good however, I am on a tight budget and I rather not have to pay for any additional parts at full retail price from the gunsmith since I am headed to a gun show to get the majority of these parts this weekend.

Help please...

Xracer
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (3/6/03 9:18:01 am)
    Reply Re: Springfield Mil-Spec - Modifications Help
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Hi SA45......welcome to TFF.

I'm not sure I understand your question. Are you trying to make a mil-spec into a carry gun?

If that's the case, here's my opinion....

1. Full guide rod - for a carry gun, doesn't make enough difference to make a difference.
    2. Match Trigger - unless you've got a LOT of trigger creep, probably not necessary.