The Firearms Forum banner

Springfield model 15 Refinishing

4K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  mr.t7024 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi what follows is my attempt at giving my old .22 single shot a new look. I'll add more pics as I keep going to keep you guys updated. If anyone has any suggestions on the subject of refinishing stocks or bluing feel free the comment. I'm very new to this and I know I could always use some help.

This shows the rifle before I did anything to it.

An up close of the stock to show the wood grain and some small damage done by years of use.

This shows rusting on the barrel and the tarnished bolt.
(I would like to learn to jewel gun bolts if any one could inform me of any literature on the process it would be greatly appreciated)

Everything is pulled apart and ready for stripping

Barrel and stock are striped and ready for bluing and staining

The stock with a Red Mohogany stain applied (I know its blotchey I can't make it any lighter those are the areas of major handling and usage the stain just soaks in darker there and i have no Idea on how to fix that also sorry about the blurry pictures here and on the barrel my camera hates the dark and apparently the lights in my work shop)

The newley blued barrel and polished bolt. (Again sorry about the blur I'll try to get better pictures)

Alright thats all I've got for now. I'm currently ordering a new firing pin and extractor for the rifle and I'm also applying truoil to the stock as I post now. I'll Post the finals in a few days.

See less See more
#3 ·
Some of those old .22 single shots are great candidates for refinishing. I personally like a good hand rubbed oil finish on those stocks. I don't like a glossy finish - especially not on older rifles.