Springfield Model 1903

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by rdbjr57, Jun 22, 2011.

1. rdbjr57

rdbjr57 New Member

Greetings to the group!

I acquired a Springfield Model 1903 last night and am curious about it's worth and some of it's markings. I've had a Garand for a while and am pretty familiar with them but I am brand new to the 1903 world.

Serial number is 6978XX

Marking on the barrel just shy of the front sight is "AV" above an ordinance-bomb looking symbol with "12-18" below that.

If I am correct from my web surfing last night, this is called a "Sporter" version. (although not an NRA Sporter, again, if I read correctly last night.)

I guess I'm limited to uploading 4 photos at a time, so I've added four:
    (1) The whole rifle
    (2) The bottom of the bolt with markings visible
    (3) A "bullet test" with a 30-06 round
    (4) The left side

The three holes on the left side all seem to be tapped (threaded). Any ideas what they are for? There is one on the right side. I'm assuming one or more of them are "Hatcher" holes to release gasses?

It looks like it was tapped for a scope at one point. There are two holes under the rear sight (not a flip up sight).

Any insight that can be provided would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

rdbjr57

Attached Files:

2. rdbjr57

rdbjr57 New Member

A few more photos of the 1903...

Attached Files:

3. Jim Hauff

Jim Hauff New Member

rdbjr57,
    Welcome!