Stained glass hobby

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ARB, Jan 29, 2010.

1. ARB

ARB New Member

For years now my mother has been working with stained glass. She has created some really beautiful pieces. I had always enjoyed watching her as a child, and had fun grinding some of the pieces for her. I think now, I am going to give it a shot. She is sending me all of her equipment as she has recently found other things to do.
    Has anyone ever worked with glass?
  2. Bubblehead

Bubblehead New Member

Yes, I have an NRA beer mug that I work with every night :D

Sorry, couldn't help myself. Folks, continue on with the original question.
  3. Airdale

Airdale Member

ARB,

My wife created many beatiful pieces, lamp shades, windows and some smaller pieces. One thing led to another and she found her way to bead making and fused glass jewelery (some very beautiful stuff). She is completly self taught.

Lots of ways to go in glass hobbies, hope you find your niche.
  4. Maximilian II

Maximilian II New Member

I don't but one of my best friends is a professional stained glass maker.
    Good stained glass is fascinatingly beautiful.
  5. artabr

artabr New Member

I had several friends that did it years ago, I messed with it just enough to screw up. :eek: :D
    Really cool stuff.
    1 buddy and I were going to inlay a stain glass eagle that he was to make into a table that I was going to build. We never got a round to it. I wish we had.

Art
  6. shadowalker

shadowalker New Member

My two brothers and I have been doing stained glass as a profession for over 75 years. I brought my son into glasswork 10 years ago. My brother owns Northeast Stained Glass in Newton, N.J. My son works for my brother; it's a family affair. They only do commercial work now, since the home market has really gone down. Not many people can afford the price of handmade glasswork..
  7. Artemus

Artemus New Member

Haaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahahahahahaha,I love it.
  8. docwalt