Starline Brass Question

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Bowsage, Nov 21, 2011.

1. Bowsage

Bowsage New Member

This forum looks like a good place to follow as I just joined in a few days ago .

I'm about to start loading for my Ruger 45 Colt and I'm sure I'll ask for more help/suggestions as I am new to reloading.

First question is do you need to resize the new Starline brass before loading the first time?
  2. jim brady

jim brady Well-Known Member

It's a good idea to both size and trim new brass. This gives you a great place to start with all the brass being made the same when you start. Starline makes good brass. I use it a lot for my .45 Colt loads. Good luck and enjoy!

Welcome to the Forum!!!!
  3. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

+1

Its a good idea to size/trim any new brass before reloading.
  4. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Welcome to TFF Bowsage ! Starline is great brass and the suggestions above are spot on. Resize it all so that it's all uniform and then check the lengths; if there are any differences more than .002, then I'd trim them all to uniform length.
  5. daboone

daboone Member

Starline brass is excellent brass but the advantage to resizing then trimming (new) brass is assuring the seating depth and crimps are consistent. It is a responsibility of the handloader to trust nothing to chance not even Starline.
  6. Bowsage

Bowsage New Member

I just checked about twenty cases, none are too long, I suppose that will change after shooting. Can you just trim after they stretch?

I'm starting out with the 255 SWC Laser Cast and Unique starting at 7.6grns. How much do you move up as you're working up your load ? Thanks fellows!
  7. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

That will be OK, just check them all to make sure. Most important thing is to go ahead and resize and flare them as if they are fired cases.