Starter kit

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Maxlamenas, Feb 25, 2011.

1. Maxlamenas

Maxlamenas New Member

Hi evrybody

Im a newbie in rolaoding

My question is what kind of starter kit is the best for start to raloading ?
    I have 2 gun a reminton 300 RUM and 270 WSM

PS sorry for my english i am a french
  2. Dirtypacman

Dirtypacman New Member

3. howlnmad

howlnmad Well-Known Member

I think he'd need to use the turret in single stage to load the 300 RUM rounds. The turret will start turning before the bullet has exited the die all the way. And I'm pretty sure the disks won't go large enough for a powder charge either. It should work for the 270 Win cartridges.
    For loading two rifle rounds I'd go with a Classic Cast single stage and the Perfect Powder Measure. I'm not even sure if that will throw a large enough charge for the 300. I'm not saying, just guessing on that but that's a lot of case to fill.
    Too many options, but you have to think about how many rounds you plan on loading per session and how many a year and how much you want to spend to get started.
  4. howlnmad

I am so rude.

Welcome to TFF and keep asking questions. Everyone here is helpful and friendly. Most of the time :D.
  5. polishshooter

polishshooter Active Member

Welcome Max, always good to have another Hockey fan on the forum, if I can be so presumptuous:D

Starting out you cannot beat Lee stuff, it will keep your initial investment down until you get to know how to do it and if you are like me 40 years later you will STILL be buying Lee stuff! (Got my new perfect powder measure and collet dies for my new Swift just yesterday!:p)

Believe it or not for all my rifle loading to this point I used the Lee dipper set, I've had it for over 30 years and tough to beat.