stovepipe

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by Mr.publicservant, Jul 31, 2007.

1. Mr.publicservant

Mr.publicservant New Member

i own a springfield G.I. champion with a new trigger and ambi-safety installed. everything else is stock

my gun stovepipes quite a bit and i just finished reading the sticky about reliability. it malfunctions on several different types of ammo. the casing also shows a flat spot after ejection, on every single casing. also the rounds may not feed the first round properly. I'm not sure if i need to just polish and round the sharp edges or if i need to do all of the things recommended in the sticky. any help would be appreciated.
  2. travihanson

travihanson New Member

I would try polishing the feed ramp, may not be the problem and I am no pro by any means...but I would give it a try. Someone that will know better will be on the way shortly

Welcome to TFF :)
  3. Mr.publicservant

thank you. it is appreciated. i will probably start with polishing and go from there. the malfunctions are so constant that i just shoot my glock 22 now and leave the 1911 at home.
  4. travihanson

travihanson New Member

Ohhhh....that would not be happening.....I would have that thing fixed before I shot anything else.....:) Sorry, I'm not a big fan of glocks :p
  5. Bruce FLinch

Bruce FLinch New Member

Stovepipes are often caused by limp-wristing. That is the ejected case gets caught in the ejection port as the slide returns to battery.

Polishing the feedramp will improve feeding. Roundball ammo usually is the most reliable feeding.

Having a gunsmith lower the ejection port & check the extractor & ejecter, might help also. Springfields are usually pretty good out of the box. You might try talking to their Service Dept.
    Good Luck :)
  6. Mr.publicservant

well, i can tell you its not limp wristing.