1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

Strange Advice from Kimber?

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by dcriner, Aug 1, 2012.

1. dcriner

dcriner Member

I have a new, 1911, full-size, .45 Kimber. Here are two quotes from the instruction manual:

Repeatedly allowing the slide to slam closed on an empty chamber will cause premature wear and loosening....Ease the slide closed.

Pull the trigger allowing the hammer to free fall forward on the empty chamber. Do not "ease" the hammer down by holding or blocking it. Doing so can mar the sear tip which will result in substard trigger pull.

I've been doing both of those things for 50 years. Is this standard advice? I must have missed the memo.
  2. aa1911

aa1911 Active Member

Yup. Proper etiquette anyway, always ease the slide but snap the trigger to release the hammer. I guess it's to keep from marring the sear/hammer at the halfcock notch.
  3. ozo

ozo Well-Known Member

"Pull the trigger allowing the hammer to free fall forward on the empty chamber. Do not "ease" the hammer down by holding or blocking it. Doing so can mar the sear tip which will result in substard trigger pull."---per Kimber

So, a semi-auto with a de-cocker would internally function differently how?
  4. aa1911

aa1911 Active Member

decocker would accomplish the same thing as snapping the trigger unless you held the hammer.
  5. Double D

Double D Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Uhh, no. Decockers do not snap the trigger. If they did, they would fire the gun when having one in the chamber.
  6. 76Highboy

76Highboy Well-Known Member Supporting Member