stuck case problems in AR-15

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by EDD, Mar 10, 2011.

1. EDD

EDD New Member

I am new here and this is my first post, hopefully I will start with enough info. about my issue. I have been reloading for several years, many calibers for bolt guns and pistol. I just started loading for my Rock River AR-15. I use a small base die for sizing, load 10X or TAC powder, and use a several different bullets. The problem that I am have is that after 10-20 shots I get a live round that will not completely chamber and gets stuck. As I am shooting I notice that I start to get a white residue that builds up on the spent cases (the more i shoot the more residue) until one sticks. Anyone have any ideas?
  2. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Welcome to TFF EDD, got a few ??? for you and then hopefully we can get to the bottom of this problem for ya:

1 - how many reloads on the cases and what is your trim dimension? thinking that it might be a short case and not sealing the chamber well enough. Are there any streaks to the "white residue".

2 - what type of case lube are you using and what are you using to clean it off the cases?

3 - Did you have a problem with FL resizing and then go to the SB dies?

4 - got any pics?

5 - have you got any headspace guages available? I'd like to know what is going on with the chamber dimesions when this problem occurs. Also, have you checked the loaded cases with a case guage?

Hope this will help narrow it down. Glad ya found us and hope you'll enjoy and post up !! Got some great folks here and some great donations that are given away each month for those that contribute to the forum. ( min of 50 posts; easy ! )

Semper Fi,

Woolley
  3. woolleyworm

also, how many rounds have you put through your RR prior to using handloads? Have you had any fail to extract after firing?
  4. jlloyd73

jlloyd73 New Member