Stupid newbie ? Lol

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by M00N7child, Nov 9, 2012.

1. M00N7child

M00N7child New Member

Hi, I am kinda new to this, my husband & I own sever different guns, I am very small 5ft. Not a lot of upper body strength, before my husband, I lived with my fiancé, he had a M1 grand, (very beautiful gun), also had a AR15 (also very nice). We had a reloading bench in the spare room so I remember a little, about the grains, & so forth. Back then my 1st time shooting was started off with the M1 grand, needless to say it wasn't fun but I'm glad he was behind me to soften the recoil or I'm sure I woulda been on my a$$ lol. Then I shot the AR 15 which wasn't as bad of a recoil but still sucked for my size. Needless to say I'm now with my sweet husband, that loves to shoot, we have quite a few, & I was always the one to say, "we will never have a gun in the house with kids" only cause I have seen the horror stories of parents that thought the same thing, " oh nothing will happen just keep them up safe", my husband is very good of keeping them double locked up :) sorry to bore you with my story, but he's always begging me to come shooting, but after the 2 other guns, I shot with a few people laughing in the range, cause the recoil almost flew me back to the wall, I guess I am "Discouraged ", any suggestions??? I don't really check my email, but I am, "AmyFettersVettese"thanks for you help also I had seen something call a "Pctech .22" is that correct, & if so would it be easier to shoot. Thank you
  2. B27

B27 New Member

Hey there! :)

I'm in GA too.
  3. M00N7child

M00N7child New Member

I am 20 mins roughly south of ya in Newnan :)
  4. medalguy

medalguy Member

The M1 is pretty powerful for a small woman to shoot. The AR is better, but you might want to try something lighter such as a .22 rifle, at least until you get used to shooting. Then you can try the AR again. You should be able to handle that pretty easily.