Stupid Noobs!

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Del Slo, Jun 21, 2012.

1. Del Slo

Del Slo New Member

I have been reloading for several months now. Its very stress relieving... My question is this. I have a 30/06 that Reload with about 50gr of H380 with a 150gr bullet. My girlfriend say it kicks too hard.

What would be a good grain load for her to shoot at paper targets at short distances? 50-100 yds max... I'm thinking about 25-35 grains... I don't see it being dangerous with a light load but any advice would be great.

Has anyone done this before?
    Does anyone see any issues this may cause?
  2. 243winxb

243winxb New Member

Hodgdon Youth Loads

Hodgdon Youth Loads will work with H4895. I would not load H380 below the posted starting load data. Also look at Trail Boss. Both listed under "Data" http://www.hodgdon.com/
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2012
  3. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

Hodgdon's website says 53.0 is minimum with that powder and bullet weight. I surely would not drop down to 25 to 35. That just seems too much of a drop outside data.

If my girlfriend complained about the kick of my ought six, first thing I'd do is get her a PAST recoil pad.

http://www.battenfeldtechnologies.com/past/catalog.asp?product=Mag-Plus-Recoil-Shield-Ambidextrous

I have one. Tames the recoil of a 375 H&H.

Then I would look into reloading cast bullets for the ought six. You can get 150 grain lead bullets and data pushing them in the 1400 fps (or thereabouts) range, which should be MUCH easier on the shoulder.

You would need a different powder, though.
  4. Crawdaddy

Crawdaddy New Member

243 hit the nail on the head. My kids shot my 30-06 using the h4895 youth loads with no problems whatsoever. As a bonus, I found myself using the powder for other applications, its a very consistent burning powder, which is why you can load down with it so easily.
  5. soundguy

soundguy Well-Known Member

i've heard loading too low can be just as bad as too high.