Stupid question that has probably been asked before....

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by polishshooter, Mar 3, 2011.

1. polishshooter

polishshooter Active Member

But I am relatively new to loading for my rifles, in the past I was just after loads that matched factory, not really after accuracy, or else like with my AR-15 limited by the magazine, so I just set my seating die to a factory cartridge and forgot about it, but now with the Swift, I want to get it seated pretty close to the lands, if not up against them, and will experiment to see what it likes.

But my question is...short of making a cast of my chamber, how can I easily measure what the maximum OAL is for a particular rifle chamber?

BTW if it matters, its a Ruger 77 MkIIV

It's probably been asked before, but I guess I didn't pay attention in class or something, sorry:cool::p
  2. polishshooter

And I guess "new" is the wrong description, "inexperienced" would be better;)

I dabbled with rifles for about 10 years, but total I have probably only loaded about 20 for my son's 6.5 Jap, a couple of hundred .223 for my AR, and about a hundred or so for my Mosin Nagants.

I've loaded probably 100k or more .45 ACP over the past 30 years or so, along with a few thousand shotgun shells, but my rifle loading knowledge, especially ACCURATE rifle loading knowledge, is what is "limited." :D
  3. army mp

army mp Member

I use the Hornady LNL Overall Length Gage it runs about $30.00 at Mid south shooter and you will need a caliber specific Modify case. They are about $5.00 each.
  4. mikld

mikld Active Member

I Gogled "how to determine OAL" and got a bunch of hits but not the specific one I was looking for. In this article though, are instructions on how to find OAL for a specific bullet in your rifle using a cleaning rod. I used tape instead of the cleaning rod stops suggested in the article. Instructions are near bottom... http://www.surplusrifle.com/shooting/oal/index.asp
  5. todd51