1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

Suggestions for 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver Starter Supplies/Accessories?

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by sstephenson, Dec 15, 2010.

1. sstephenson

sstephenson New Member

I just purchased a Pietta 1858 New Army .44 Caliber Revolver from Cabelas and I'm looking forward to trying it out. I'm new to black powder firearms and I'd like some suggestions from you experienced folks on what I should purchase in the way of supplies and accessories in order to get started. Here are a few questions, and I'd also like your thoughts on anything else I may need. Thanks in advance for your help!

1) Powder - I'm looking for a good non-corrosive black powder substitute. Something convenient (like a pelleted powder charge) would be great. Or am I better off using black powder?

2) Patch or No Patch (or wad?) - I've watched Cabella's video showing how the revolver is loaded. It seems to me that the big glop of lubricant that they put over the ball is dirt magnet and inconvenient to carry that way. Can you use a pre-lubricated patch or wad before the ball is loaded to prevent the mess and any potential accidental ignition of the other cylinders? What do you suggest?

3) Ball size - Any recommendations?

4) Cap/Primer - Any recommendations?

5) Everything Else - What else do I need to get started?
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2010
  2. 22shot

22shot New Member

sstephenson

A nice BP revolver!

Everybody will have their own opinion about what you would need/want; and I am no different!
    I am not aware of ANY non-corrosive BP subsitute; I use Pyrodex.
    Bullets: .451 180gr. conicals.
    #11 caps; German RWS.
    I use that combo in a .44 3rd. Model Dragoon (same chamber size as yours)
    O.K.; that's my 2 cents worth.