Taurus 709 "Slim"

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by justluck, Mar 22, 2010.

1. justluck

justluck New Member

Would like to hear about experiences (The good, bad or ugly) anyone may have with the "Slim". Seems like it would be good to carry and I like the idea of it being a 9mm. I have no experience with Taurus.

Thanks
  2. MichaelM

MichaelM New Member

I'm waiting to hear some input on this also as I too am considering the Slim as my next gun purchase.
  3. Harralson

Harralson New Member

I purchased a Taurus 709 slim late last year. I fired approx. 120 rounds of factory (Winchester) and reloaded ammunition thru it. Nine cartridges failed to fire. The firing pin struck the primer lightly and it did not ignite.

I returned the gun to Taurus for repair. It was gone 8 weeks and returned with a note that they replaced the firing pin.

I went back to the range and the exact same problem continued. Approximately 10% of rounds fail to fire.

I returned it again to taurus for repair about 4 weeks ago.
  4. Rneck

Rneck New Member

I bought one last year and so far no problems,after 300 rounds. the sights are a little small for my old eyes so it is the wife's carry gun
  5. CampingJosh

CampingJosh Well-Known Member

Taurus, Ruger, and Kel-tec seem to be the three handgun manufacturers who are making innovations these days. Twenty years ago, Glock was the new thing... and now everyone makes a polymer DAO pistol.

I fully expect other manufacturers to copy the designs of these three over the next decade. But like anything else, I'm generally wary of the first generation of any product.

Taurus makes good stuff. But I still like to wait a year or so on the newest thing, no matter who makes it.
  6. Over The Hill

Over The Hill New Member