Taurus PT92... all junk or just mine?

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by Stays_Crunchy, Mar 26, 2009.

1. Stays_Crunchy

Stays_Crunchy New Member

I'm relatively new to the firearms hobby. It started with my general interest in WWII which somehow mysteriously turned into me buying a gun safe and filling it with an Arisaka T99 rifle, German Kar98, M1 Carbine, and an M1 Garand.

Anyway, I decided I wanted to venture into the world of handguns. Just something to put holes in paper out at the range, not WWII collectors like my rifles. I did alot of research first and I narrowed it down to either a 1911-style or M9-style. After talking to people and reading numerous internet forums, I came up with the Taurus PT92. Price was a consideration of course, but I also found out that quite a few people actually prefer it over the more expensive Beretta that it copies. So I bought one and...

... I hate it.

I'll start with my small gripes and work my way up. First off I will say that I loved the way the gun looked and felt. The overall build quality was excellent and it had a very nice heft to it.

The problems started right when I tried loading it. Pushing rounds into the magazine is no simple matter. I could only get 10 rounds or so into either of the magazines that came with it before it was nearly impossible to cram any more in. I'm not exactly a little guy either, I'm 6' 7" tall and I have giant hands, but there comes a point where your fingers are turning red and you think to yourself that maybe forcing rounds into a magazine like that maybe isn't the safest thing in the world.

So I resolved myself to the fact that these are now officially 8 round magazines instead of 16. OK that's fine, I can live with that. So I take it out to the range. Now I may not be the sharpest shooter in the West, but when every shot I make is placed a good 6" - 8" to the right of where I'm aiming at 25-yards, something ain't right.