Texas Carry laws for non-residents?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by user_error, Dec 30, 2005.

1. user_error

user_error New Member

Can't really find this information on the net (packing.org is down), so I'll ask one of you state law experts/dealers here at TFF.

My brother in law is getting married in Texas next month. Usually I'd feel pretty safe, but while I'm there I will be going out to check out some local real estate and mobile homes to purchase, and I would like to open carry while I am there out in the boons (especially around Austin). I am an Arizona resident with guns registered in AZ. What are the TX laws governing non-resident open carry? Concealed carry? What about issues like how to transport the firearm while in a vehicle? Are there any caveats I should be aware of so I don't get myself in trouble?
  2. KyBlaster

KyBlaster New Member

Do you have a concealed carry permit from your state? If not, Texas allows concealed carry in your vehicle if you are on a bonifide journey(ex. Traveling through the state.) however, once you check into a motel or location where you are staying your journey has ended. You may not carry a loaded weapon on your person or in your vehicle. Handguns should be stored unloaded and locked in the trunk.(with no permit) If you have a concealed carry permit from Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Utah, or Wyoming you are cool.(you may carry concealed in your vehicle and on your person.)

I used the NRA Travelers Guide to the Firearms Laws of the Fifty States written by J. Scott Kappas to obtain this information.
  3. Deputy Dawg

Deputy Dawg Active Member

You forgot one thing Texas does not allow open carry period, unless you are on your own land.
  4. user_error

user_error New Member