This might be a dumb question, but...

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Sandman, Dec 18, 2009.

1. Sandman

Sandman Member

Jun 17, 2009
    Louisiana
    I am a newbie, so this may be a dumb question. Actually, I have bought a manual and a lee anniversary kit and have yet to load a round...

My reloading area will be my shop by necessity (no room in the house). My shop is not climate controlled. Is this a concern in the storage of powder? Or do the plastic bottles secure it against moisture getting in? If I need to find a spot in the house to store it, I can do so, but would really prefer to keep it near my reloading station.

2. RandyP

RandyP Active Member

Jan 22, 2009
    I was going to caution against freeze-thaw cycles but suspect you don't have many of them in Louisiana? -lol

My memories of Ft Polk though old remain crystal clear. HIGH humidity and keeping yer powder dry during reloading could present a problem? Kept within their plastic jugs, powders are well protected from this of course.

3. artabr

artabr New Member

I use to store my powder in my reloading shed/metal building. I never noticed any problems and have shot some pretty good groups.
    That being said, I would think that repeated temperature changes over time would have to have some effect.
    I have started storing my powder & primers in the house.
    I'm south of Lafayette, not far from the coast.

Groups shot with powder & primers stored in non-climate controlled conditions.

Attached Files:

• 001.jpg
      001.jpg
      File size:
      59.4 KB
      Views:
    • 002.jpg
      002.jpg
      File size:
      55.8 KB
      Views:
    • 003.jpg
      003.jpg
      File size:
      51.1 KB
      Views:
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2009
  4. I strongly recommend the NRA training course, "Metallic Reloading".

5. Oneida Steve

Oneida Steve Well-Known Member

Sep 28, 2006
    Upstate NY