Training, Competition, & Tactics

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by ysacres, Mar 7, 2003.

1. ysacres

ysacres Well-Known Member

Goose3201
    (5/23/01 4:05:06 pm)
    Reply Training, Competition, & Tactics
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have been heavily involved in firearms and tactics training for the past 11 years as both student(always) and instructor(last 5 years). However, I have had little experience with the competition side of shooting. I have looked into the IDPA course and they look great but I dont know much about them.

So, I thought I would open a topic for training, competition, and the application of tactics.

Goose

"Being prepared is not paranoia."
    C.S.

M Opaliski
    Senior Chief Moderator Staff
    (5/23/01 4:29:23 pm)
    Reply Re: Training, Competition, & Tactics
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Welcome again goose ...

I am in the same boat pretty much as you are. I have been an avid handgunner for a few years now, however, other than a friendly match with some pals I have never been involved in competition shooting. I mainly became interested in firearms for self protection, it has indeed blossomed from there yet my shooting has not yet entered the world of "organized shooting" for lack of a better term.

I have been involved in shooting that was and is most certainly organized, just no real scoring. I have been through quite of bit a tactical training, however that is far different that competition in the true sense of the word.

I also do some training here and there as needed and or as asked. I have no problem with showing someone the basics as far as safe handling and safe shooting is concerned ... the more shooters that can support the hobby the better. I am always looking for a range mate.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Support your RKBA ... Matthew
    NRA Life Member
    Talk Radio Junkie