trigger creep ??

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by sidewayzlsx, Dec 6, 2009.

1. sidewayzlsx

sidewayzlsx New Member

Hello, Everybody! This is my first post on here and im relatively new to firearms. I keep hearing about trigger creep and I would like someone to explain to me what it means!
  2. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we
    It simply means the distance the trigger will travel before the sear drops and the gun goes boom! Most trigger creep can be eliminated by a competant gun smith. A hair trigger is one that has had all creep removed and takes very little pressure to move the trigger and release the sear.
  3. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

Never heard the term, myself.

Trigger's got three stages of movement.

You got the first part, where the trigger is moving, but nothing else is happening. That's called "takeup", and sometimes "slop". Military rifles often have a lot of takeup. Double action automatics, when the hammer is cocked, usually have a lot of takeup. You can work with it, but the better triggers don't have any.

Second part is the "travel". That's the distance the trigger moves, from when you first have tension on it until the hammer falls.

Then you have "overtravel". That's the distance the trigger moves after the shot has been fired. Preferably, you don't want any overtravel. You want the trigger to break (that's what it's called when the hammer releases - the trigger "breaks") and then stop. Continuing to move can cause you to pull the gun off target. There are things called "trigger stops", that prevent overtravel.

I've always heard that a "hair trigger" was one that had an extremely light pull. It was so light, that weight of a hair landing on it would set it off.
  4. Bindernut

Bindernut Well-Known Member

Going by what Alpo posted (the "proper" terminology)...