Trimming 300 Savage cases

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by nevadal, Jun 20, 2012.

1. nevadal

nevadal New Member

I have cleaned, deprimed, & sized my brass, now for the trimming.

The book says that max COL is 1.871. Trim length is 1.861.

As I am still pretty new to this, while getting my RCBS trim pro-2 set up,
    I used several casings to get the right trim length....while doing that, I ended
    up with lengths of 1.854 to 1.858, do these go into the discard bin, or can
    they be used.
    So far I haven't found anywhere that tells + or - book specs.

I will be using Hornady # 3045, 165 GR BTSP bullets, & IMF 4064 propellant.

Appreciate any help....thanks.
  2. Bindernut

Bindernut Well-Known Member

Typically, the "trim-to" length is 0.010" shorter than the max case length as listed in the SAAMI specs. That is the +/- range you'll want to try to stick within when trimming. Once a case reaches or exceeds the max length, then it's time to trim it to the trim-to length.

Are you using the cannelure (crimp groove) on that bullet?
    If not, then I usually wouldn't worry about that missing 7 thousandths.

If you're planning on crimping them in the groove, then I wouldn't use those cases for those loads at all. Save em for loads with non-cannelured bullets or just don't crimp the bullets after seating them. With inconsistent case length and crimping to the groove you will have inconsistent overall length which can monkey with your accuracy.

But...That extra 0.003-0.007" isn't enough to cause problems with most cases but in the case of the .300Savage you don't have very much neck length to begin with. You might notice those cases aren't quite as accurate because there isn't as much neck tension as proper trim-to length.
  3. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

But after you have loaded and shot them four or five times, they should have stretched out to long enough.
  4. Hammerslagger

Hammerslagger New Member