Trying to get started reloading please help

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by jjb2263, Sep 18, 2008.

1. jjb2263

jjb2263 New Member

I'm new to reloading I've never seen it done, nor do i know anyone who's done it. any tips on equipment brands or books i should read would be helpful. I was thinking about buying the hornady reloading kit, Is this a good buy? Im wanting to reload .243 and 9 mm mainly.
    Thanks for any help you can give me
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2008
  2. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

Welcome, I'm fairly new to reloading and have noticed alot of people give props to the hornady reloading manual, (I also like the Lyman manual) heres the one piece of advice I can offer - do not use only one manual, buy two or more, redundancy is your best friend in this hobby... Good luck!
  3. RodneyJ

RodneyJ New Member

Welcome I have only been reloading for about a year like you I had never seen it done. I started with the Lee aniversory kit It come with a manual I read it several times before I started. I have been pleased with the results. I'm Sure you will get better quality equipment with the hornady kit. I do have a hornady manual but would not want that as my only manual. I Like the Lyman and Lee reloading manual as they offer information on different types of bulets not just one brand.
  4. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

jjb2263:

The trick to learning reloading is to read, read, and re-read until you understand the process before you buy anything. There are reloading videos too so that you can see it done but the video is no replacement for a good reloading manual. I like the Hornady manual that explains how cartridges work and what the reloading processes do to keep the cartridge working. I must have ten reloading manuals and most get referred to everytime I do a new cartridge.