Trying to reconcile 9mm reloading recipes

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by holmerja1, Dec 9, 2009.

1. holmerja1

holmerja1 New Member

I haven't been reloading for about 10 years, and took it back up now that I have time to devote to it again. Historically I have loaded rifle rounds and .41 Mag rounds, so I am new to the autoloading pistol calibers. I bought some dies, 124 gr Hornady TMJ bullets and started looking at making a load. for recipes I found:

Lyman 46th ed:
    125gr SP using Unique 4.1gr to 5.3gr
    Speer 11th ed:
    124gr TMJ using Unique 5.5gr to 5.9gr
    Current Alliant recipe from website:
    124gr GDHP using Unique 5.8 gr (no mimumum listed)

I loaded some rounds with 5.5 gr (minimum from Speer 11th ed), but now I wonder if they are too hot. I want to load more for the economics (and fun of reloading) in this caliber, so I don't want a hot load, more like a "gun-lasts-forever" and safe range load.

Can some of you knowledgeable experts weigh in? I do intend to pick up a more recent reloading data manual, so I am curious about opinions on that too. Thanks in advance for any/all input.
  2. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

For the 124 TMJ 5.5gr unique is my absolute favorite hands down, I have worked up to 5.9gr and it seemed to lose accuracy, no worries yours are not too hot shoot em up!
  3. neilin

neilin New Member

I have loaded 4.5 grains of Unique with a 120 grain round nose lead bullet for years, that works well in a variety of 9mm pistols.
  4. olehippy

olehippy New Member

Can help as far a the ‘expert’ advise (although my wife sometimes suggests I might be when pronounced differently. . .), but been loading similar loads for awhile.