The Firearms Forum banner

Typical Fallout of a batch?

1K views 16 replies 9 participants last post by  11B-101ABN 
#1 ·
When I'm reloading, I generally end up with say 2 or 3 rounds per 50 that don't gauge correctly and I have to pull the bullet etc. Seems the issue is mostly with the case head not being perfectly (subjective word) round.

Is that typical with reloading used brass? Seem high? low? About right? I am loading 45ACP.

Thanks in advance for your response.

#2 ·
I reload .45, as well as several other calibers. I have been reloading for about 35 years, and I have never gauged brass, bullet, or completed round. If they are about the same length as a factory round, and they function in my gun, I'm good to go!

#3 ·
Need a bit more info, pls. What kind or gauge are you using? What part of the cartridge is unacceptable? (diameter, OAL, bullet dia.?).

I have reloaded 45 ACP for two simi-autos for only 17 years and use the plunk test exclusively (I have a Wilson gauge somewhere...).

#4 ·
The completed round doesn't drop completely in, I can nudge it in. I am reasonable sure that it's the concentricity of the case head to the gauge. I'm just curious if this is typical when reloading or correctable. Additional text in the picture attached.

Text

I'm using a Dillon Case Gauge. I've also used the barrel from my 5" Colt and it's the same behavior on those that fail
.http://www.dillonprecision.com/#/content/p/9/pid/25548/catid/3/Dillon_Handgun_Case_Gages

#5 ·
I have also been loading .45 for over 35 years. Like Carver, I have never measured or gauged any of them. If the slide puts it into the chamber and the thing goes boom, I am happy with it.

I am going to have to say that what you are experiencing is probably typical and again, if it loads in your pistol, shoot it!

#6 ·
if it goes thru the resizer , and it isn't one of those partially unsupported chamber type guns, i'd be inclined to agree witht he guys. if it chambers run it.