under 21-can't purchase a handgun

Discussion in 'Self Defense Tactics & Weapons' started by rcanis, Jul 15, 2008.

1. rcanis

rcanis New Member

Here's the situation. I am a student at the University of New Orleans. I am 18 years old. Given that I live in one of the most murder prone areas of the United States, I feel that it is prudent to carry a firearm, or rather since I am under 21 and get get a concealed carry permit, to keep a gun in my glove box. Unfortunately, while possession of a handgun at 18 is legal, purchase is not.(I never understood the rational behind that) My question is this, are there any non-handgun alternatives that make sense to keep in a car for self-defense. On a side note, I drove a little Honda Civic. Thanks in advance.
  2. CampingJosh

CampingJosh Moderator

If you have a parent that would buy a handgun and let you "borrow" it until you're 21 (and then sell it to you), that would get you right around it.

Also, it wouldn't be a bad idea to look into whether it is legal for you to purchase a handgun from an individual rather than from a dealer (I know nothing about Louisiana law).

As for options other than handguns... if you can keep a short rifle in a handgun caliber (.357 lever action gun or something like that), that might work.
    Tasers, stun guns, and pepper spray all work pretty well. (I've only been hit with the stun gun, but I have no desire to try any of them again).
  3. rcanis

rcanis New Member

Thanks for the reply. Unfortunately I live with my mom who is very anti firearm. My dad lives in another state, do you know what the legalities behind <i>him</i> letting me borrow a handgun would be?
  4. CampingJosh

CampingJosh Moderator

I think that would depend a lot on the registration laws in the state where he lives. Which state is he in?
  5. rcanis

rcanis New Member