Unique Powder

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by The_Vigilante, Apr 28, 2008.

1. The_Vigilante

The_Vigilante New Member

I am just getting into reloading-just purchased and am waiting for the Lee Classic 4-Turret kit. One of the gun dealers I deal with has recommended Unique powder for all of my pistol reloading needs. Some of what I have read about Unique is that it is a very dirty powder. Before buying it (or not buying it) would like to get the opinions of those in the forum that have used it. I will be primarily reloading for .357, .44 Special, .44 Magnum, .45 Colt, and .454 Casul. If not Unique, what other powders would be recommended for these calibres? Thanks in advance
  2. Dakota Red 1

Dakota Red 1 New Member

Unique is a very versatile powder that works in everything from small autos to magnum revolvers. I will say that although it does a good job in the heavier loads for the magnums, I have gotten better performance from the slower burning powders like H110, 2400 and 296. For lighter loads and in non-magnums I have, besides Unique, done well with Blue Dot, 700X and Bullseye.

I use a lot of Unique but haven't noticed if it is particularly dirty. Accuracy, power and consistancy I notice.

Reloading is a relaxing and enjoyable activity for me in the evenings. There is always more to learn or try out so it keeps your interest too. I use some well thumbed manuals, but the bullet and powder companys have lots of information on their web sites that cover the reloading process, load data and balistics.

As you are just getting started, I would advise you to follow the instructions carefully, pay attention to detail, try not to get distracted while reloading and work at being very consistant with each step of the process. Especially, check and double check that your powder charge is of correct and consistant weight.