unknown gun

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by kaptin2, May 4, 2012.

1. kaptin2

kaptin2 New Member

i have a single shot hammer l c smith shotgun cant find serial numbers or any info i think its a 12 gauge just says hunter on top of barrel
  2. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

G'day and welcome Kaptin2 !

i've friends in a group called The L.C. Smith Collectors Association

i'm not a expert on them but theres a lot of info on these available through there group

http://www.lcsmith.org/

i did hear that they started charging for the info to cover their costs which obozo has made go up 300% in the last 2 years ( cost of public record searches )

but the web site is free ..
  3. Tom Archer

Tom Archer Member

I'm a life member and past director of the L.C. Smith Collectors Association; and have conducted much research on the company and guns produced. LC Smith never produced a single shot hammer shotgun; but they did manufacture double barrel hammer guns and hammerless single barrel trap guns. Perhaps a photo would be a great assist in the ID of your gun?

Jack 404: As to your comment "i did hear that they started charging for the info to cover their costs which obozo has made go up 300% in the last 2 years ( cost of public record searches )'; you have certainly stumped me there friend????????????????
    In the first place, the LCSCA has not, and never will perform public records searches. We do have a copy of what remains of the original L.C. Smith gun shipping records; and for a small fee, anyone who owns an L.C. Smith gun can contact Jim Stubbendieck of the LCSCA; and Jim will perform a records search and provide the requester a letter from the Association containing all pertinent details the maker recorded about the gun in question (gauge, original barrel length, options, ship date, etc).
  4. wonderwhippet

wonderwhippet Active Member