Unknown trade sign

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by mike williams, Feb 9, 2011.

1. mike williams

mike williams New Member

Hi Everybody!
    I am new to the Firearms Forum. I have a question and would value members opinion about it. A couple of years ago I bought an old gun shop trade sign. The seller in Denmark told me that his father had picked it up in an antique shop in London in the early 60s. The sign is obviously really old and not a modern reproduction. It is made of a heavy wood like Oak perhaps, and the nails are very rusted. The paint is thick but has come away in a few places. The sign says PAWLSTOCK & Co. 18 ST.JAMES LONDON. MAKERS OF ALL SUPERIOR FLINTLOCK PISTOLS & GUNS SINCE 1760. The problem is that I have been unable to find any record of this company having existed. 18 St.James is still there but is a restaurant now. I checked with London postal records for this period without success. Do you think that someone would have faked such a sign so long ago?
    Thanks very much for any thoughts.
    Mike Williams.

Attached Files:

2. Jim K

Jim K New Member

1960 "so long ago"? Gawd, you make me feel really old. I can't find any maker by that name and think the sign is a fake. English inn signs and gunmaker's signs have been faked for ages. The bullet holes are a nice touch, until one considers them. No one would shoot up a hanging sign (where would the bullets go?) and if someone used an old sign for target practice, why did he hit only the edges? Plus the drawing is not realistic and I would think a real gun maker would make sure it was done better. The wood could be old; it looks like a trunk or box lid of some kind.

Faking didn't begin last week. Many of the "ancient Greek" statues in the museums are fakes from the Roman Empire. They made them in mass production in Italy to sell to the rich Roman suckers who thought they were getting Greek antiques.

Jim
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2011
  3. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member