very elementary question

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by cjh7819, May 24, 2009.

1. cjh7819

cjh7819 New Member

I am new to reloading and my reloading manual says that max case length for 30/06 casing is 2.494 inches but then says underneath it trim to length 2.484 inches. I have some once fired brass that is just in between these two lengths. Do I need to trim them or are they allright to reload. Is it just after they exceed 2.494 they need to be trimmed back to 2.484 or is it everytime?

Thankyou in advance.
  2. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

You will be fine until your cases exceed the length noted on the data. Trimming the cases everytime is an option if you choose, for consistency. However the number of times you reload the brass should be reduced if you are constantly trimming it. Some of our sensei's will be along soon to shed more light on this. Have fun!
  3. Crpdeth

Crpdeth Active Member

Don't let them exceed 2.494, If you WANT to trim them back to 2.484 each time, you aren't hurting a thing... I like to trim my cases each time because I think I get better target results with all my brass being exactly the same.

Crpdeth
  4. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

Here is how it is suppose to work:

When the brass is new it will be at the "Trim-To " length after sizing. As the brass is used it will grow in length. When it reaches the "Max" case length it is time to trim it back to the Trim-to length.