Vintage Mossberg and Sons 152K .22 LR Rifle. Help needed!

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by Esrange, Mar 3, 2012.

1. Esrange

Esrange New Member

I purchased this rifle at an auction today for possibly too much :(
    It's a Mossberg and sons Model 152K. Overall it's in pretty good shape, there's some rust spots on the bolt but nothing too deep, there's no pitting, no cracks in the wood, and I don't see any bluing wear (maybe a little near the end of the barrel)
    It came with a 7 round magazine.
    The bolt is a bit stiff but smooth, the trigger feels a bit gritty though.

I paid 100$ for it (after tax), I usually buy stuff to resell for profit, but I'm reading that these don't go for more than 100$.
    I'll post pictures tomorrow when there's better light (it's night out), but I do want some help.

Can anyone tell me how to disassemble the bolt? I'm new to guns, this is my first rifle.
    Also, how to I clean the bore out? I looked down into it (after putting it in safe of course), and about an inch down it looks like there's a clot of dirt or lead in the barrel.

I do want to shoot it sometime, I hope I can!

Thanks for any help!
  2. Esrange

Esrange New Member

Pictures

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  3. tarheel101

tarheel101 New Member

You are about correct on the price you paid being the value of the Mossberg 152A.
    Cleaning is simple and you will need a few tools. If you have a gun shop or even Walmart near by you can get a rifle cleaning kit with a cleaning rod, jag, patches, brush, solvent and oil. No doubt the kit will come with instructions but it's all pretty self evident.
    Of course do not fire the rifle until you have the barrel free of any obstructions. If it already is not damaged firing it will almost certainly "ring" the barrel and diminish the accuracy and value of your rifle.