Walther PP

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by Hombre, Nov 8, 2009.

1. Hombre

Hombre New Member

I Have a Walther PP Zella Mehlis 7,65 together with a box with matching numbers.
    Serial number 165674P. I also have a box with a Walther plug pipe for
    4 mm ammo. I am curious when the gun was made. About value, well, I guess it is a difference between Sweden and the U.S.A.
    Sorry, for the bad pictures but that´s all I could do for now.
    Best regards,
    Hombre

Attached Files:

2. Danny

Danny Member

:eek::):)All I can say Hombre, is Wow with a double Wow, Wow. I have been collecting Walthers for over 30 years & have never seen any as nice as yours.
    Lets get to some tech issues first, before I give you a value. From my data bank, your pistol was manufactured in 1938 or early 1939. It was produced for your countrys police dept. That explains the lanyard loop on the bottom.
    The only thing I can not understand is the eagle/n markings. Those markings did not appear on any German firearm until 1940. The only visible explanation I can come up with, is Walther had some of these laying around that were meant for the private purchase & were setting on a shelf with the crown/n markings. They must have removed the c/n & replaced it with the e/n sometime later at the beginning of the war. Then too they may not have been stamped at all. This is really a brain buster on how a prewar PP ended up with that eagle/n?
    Your pistol is almost in a new/unfired look. With the pistol & the other goodies in the box, here in the states, it would bring over 3000.00 & even more to the right colllector. The 4mm kit being also in a new state, with the issued ammo, could & would bring in 1000.00 if not more. In all you may surpase these figures in your country. That weapon really belongs in a museum.
    I hope this info helps ya some? Keep that weapon light oiled and stowed in a safe & ten years you may double the values just mentioned.