Walther PPK/S for CC?

Discussion in 'Self Defense Tactics & Weapons' started by daxmanio, Sep 8, 2003.

1. daxmanio

daxmanio New Member

Hi! I'm a newbie here and i'd like to know the pros and cons of using a Walther PPK/S as a concealed carry weapon. How is its reliability? Stopping power? I hope someone could share his/her experiences with the gun whether bad or good.

Thanks,

DAX

Attached Files:

2. inplanotx

inplanotx New Member

Hi DAX and welcome to our forum. Although I cannot help in your question, I'm sure our resident experts will be around shortly. Glad to have you with us.
  3. 1952Sniper

1952Sniper New Member

Welcome to TFF, daxmanio!

Aside from the .380 being a bit on the small side, I would say the PPK is an excellent weapon for carrying concealed. It's an excellent design. I just personally wouldn't trust my life to a .380.
  4. Marlin

Marlin *TFF Admin Staff Chief Counselor*

Hi daxmanio. Welcome to TFF!

Hope you will join us often and post often.
  5. Shooter45

Shooter45 *Administrator* Staff Member

The Walther is a good , reliable weapon . If you are going to carry a 9mm for self defense, I'd load the Walther with Cor-Bon ammo. Federal also makes a good personal protection ammo.
  6. Logansdad

Logansdad New Member

I'd load it with Glaser Safety Slugs
  7. skiingfool1974

skiingfool1974 New Member

Welcome to TFF Dax!

Walther makes a fine pistol, however a .380 doesn't have as much stopping power as I would like. For a CC gun, I personally don't want anything smaller than a 9mm. The 3 CC guns that I carry are a .40, and 2 .45 1911's. What it boils down to is what gun can you handle well, that feels comfortable to shoot, and can be concealed well. If it's only a little .25, so be it. There's no point in carrying a .44 is you can't hit anything, or get a 2nd shot off.

Shoot a bunch of different guns in different callibers, and see what fits you the best, then practice, practice, practice.

Good luck,

Evan
  8. daxmanio