What are interchangable choke tubes?

Discussion in 'Informational & Technical Archives' started by ruffitt, Feb 24, 2003.

1. ruffitt

ruffitt *TFF Admin Staff* In Heaven Now

Xtremehulk
    (3/25/02 11:11:31 pm)
    | Edit | Del All What are interchangable choke tubes?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have a Winchester Model 59 with full choke. My friends are talking about how their guns came with interchangable chokes. If you can't tell I'm pretty new to shotgun shooting. I was wondering if my gun can use choke tubes, and which is most effective for trap shooting, which is more effective for duck, phesant, dove, ect. Also, how hard to install, and where can I find choke tubes for a gun as old as mine?

Thanks
    Paul

SXSMAN
    V.I.P. Member
    (3/25/02 11:29:29 pm)
    | Edit | Del Re: What are interchangable choke tubes?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Paul,some guns come with what are called fixed chokes,meaning their barrels are of one size,say full.Other barrels are bored out and tapped for tubes which are of different sizes.Screw in one and now it's full.Remove it and screw in another and now it's Mod.
    I have a SxS (Side by side) that I would like to find a spare barrel set and send out and have them bored and tapped for choke tubes so I can have the best of all worlds .(OK maybe I'm too cheap to buy another shotgun)

ysacres
    V.I.P. Member
    (3/25/02 11:42:33 pm)
    The amount of choke determines the effective range of the gun for different types of game. a Improved cylinder choke is suitable for grouse, quial, or pigeon at 20-30 yards.
    With a half or (modifided) choke it is suitable for pheasant or rabbit at 25-55 yards.
    a full choke is good for ducks or geese at 35-50 yards.

Not sure if your model 59 has interchangable chokes or not, someone else here should know.