What difference do primers make?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Guest, Feb 24, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Dave3
    V.I.P. Member
    (4/5/02 8:01:47 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del All What difference do primers make?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I'm fairly new to reloading and precision shooting. I see guys post recipes that state a specific primer. I use Winchester for shotgun, pistol and rifle. I do this because that's what the gun club sells. Do you think the primer effects accuracy enough to matter. If so what are we talking, 1/16 of an inch at 200 yards? Thanks for your advice.

velvetnsteel
    V.I.P. Member
    (4/5/02 8:30:50 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: What difference do primers make?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I have had a couple rifles that primers made a big difference - like half inch difference in size groups at 100 yards. My Swedish Mausers love Remington primers over CCI, but with the Enfields and Model 98 Mausers, there doesn't seem to be a noticable difference.
    Long live the Swedish Mauser!!

AGunguy
    *TFF Staff*
    (4/5/02 9:10:14 pm)
    I too use Winchester and CCI...why...that's about all I can get locally. They do just fine for me in my pistol loading.

Gunguy

Dave3
    V.I.P. Member
    (4/5/02 9:43:59 pm)
    It seems that it would take FOREVER to try all the different primers and powder combinations to find the perfect round. The Nosler book I have next to me list eleven different powders. That would be over $200 in powder to try them all. then you got 10 pounds of powder that you don't want. The nosler book does list most accurate powder tested (that of course is one I can not find). Where is the money saving part of this.

kdub01
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (4/5/02 9:47:04 pm)