The Firearms Forum banner

What is the best revolver material for learning to shoot with?

3K views 26 replies 12 participants last post by  92M 
#1 ·
I am new to firearms.
What is the best material for learning to shoot with? A steel revolver, aluminum revolver? Aluminum with steel insert in the barrel? ..or some other material or material combination?....and why?

Thanks

#2 ·
Ok, I will bite..what caliber revolver are you talking about? Are you talking about a gun to eventually CC? Is the gun strictly for learning to shoot? All steel guns are heavier and normally will be the best to manage recoil with. The aluminum frame guns are more designed to carry and will be lighter and normally produce more felt recoil. The snubby revolvers are harder to learn with than say a revolver with a 4" barrel. So many variables....also, why a revolver and not an auto??

#3 ·
DD is right

if you look at a medium or large frame revolver those would be large enough to get a good feel for the gun and if you want to learn how to shoot a revolver, you don't want to train on a snub nose. in my opinion you need at least a 4 inch barrel to learn to understand the nuances of site alignment and control

#5 · (Edited)
[/QUOTE]what caliber revolver are you talking about? [/QUOTE]

ordinary 38 special

[/QUOTE]Are you talking about a gun to eventually CC?[/QUOTE]

[/QUOTE] Is the gun strictly for learning to shoot? [/QUOTE]

no. I'm looking for a "one gun for all purposes gun" ;) I just happen to be learning with it too...

[/QUOTE]also, why a revolver and not an auto??[/QUOTE]

personal preference...

#6 ·
Go with an all steel revolver with a 4" barrel and good sights, not gutter sights. That will give you the best platform to learn with in my opinion. Take a class. Find someone who will spend time with you. Good luck.

#7 ·
what caliber revolver are you talking about? [/QUOTE]

ordinary 38 special

[/QUOTE]Are you talking about a gun to eventually CC?[/QUOTE]