What kind of groups should be expected?

Discussion in '.22-Rimfire Forum' started by Albtraum, Dec 27, 2011.

1. Albtraum

Albtraum Member

What kind of groups should be expected when shooting a .22LR rifle with different sights and different shooting positions?

1. Shooting offhand with the open sights (or "iron sights")? From a table?

2. Offhand with 4x fixed power scope? From a table?

3. Offhand higher power scope like 9x, 16x, etc.?

All at @ 25 yards, 50 yards, 100 yards. I'm fairly new to shooting, and was disappointed in my 50 yards groups last time I went.
  2. jstanfield103

jstanfield103 New Member

What are you shooting, make and model?
  3. todd51

todd51 Well-Known Member

Wow, that is some question with all kinds of variables. The rifle, the ammo, and shooter proficiency will all change the results. Some of the bench rest shooters are capable of 1/4 inch groups at 50 yards. I only look on in amazement at their accomplishments. Me, I am just an old plinker to shaky to do much off hand shooting. Because of old eyes I do most of my rifle shooting from scoped rifles as it makes it much easier for me. Here are some groups from this summer using a basically stock Ruger 10/22 Target with a BSA 6x18 - 40mm scope and a bipod rest. Ammo choice makes a big difference in this rifle. I have since installed a new trigger group but not had a chance to really shake that out. There are shooters here that will make my groups look like they came from a beginner, ha. But I have fun. Some of the other Old Guys have different .22LR rifles but they get similar groups. Those groups will double in size for me at 100 yards. Hope this helps.
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2013
  4. American Leader

American Leader Well-Known Member

Nice shootin Todd, for an OLD GUY!:lmao2::lmao2::lmao2: Paybacks are HELL aren't they Todd!:na-na:
  5. Albtraum

Albtraum Member