what powder dispenser to use?

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by gau17, Nov 18, 2008.

1. gau17

gau17 New Member

Hi guys,

Im new to reloading and Im getting ready to get my equipment. I'm going to attempt to reload for my Remington 700 PSS .308. My question is which powder dispenser would you guys use? I'm planing to get a RCBS model 1010 scale and the redding powder trickler to get me closer to the correct grain amount needed.

Thanks in advance.
  2. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

Here's a few facts about delivering powder to cases:

Exact powder measurement to the 0.1 grain level with a trickler is highly over rated. It turns out there are so many other varibles in reloading cartridges that are out of the reloaders control that the error of more that a couple of 0.1 grains is swamped out by them. A good powder measure along with a good scale are sufficient for good rifle cartridge accuracy. Throwing loads directly from a properly set up and calibrated powder measure is more than adequate for accurate reloading of rifle cartridges.

Bench rest rifle competitors who get 100 yd five shot groups from the bench in the 0.100 to .200 inch or less size measure by volumn (as a powder measure does) without trickling.

Any of the good powder measures with a baffle work just fine without trickling. I like my Redding Competiton BR-30 measure but the RCBS and Lyman and Hornady measures are good too. The Redding model I have delivers most accurately for loads around the 30 grain level but their regular model covers from 1 grain to 100 grains. The BR-30 can be used at other levels but it just works most accurately there and has a limited capacity of measure cavity. For a new reloader a more versatile measure might be a better choice.